The synergy between our educational programs and our nationally recognized faculty research is the essential element in our quest to improve the quality of life through teaching and research.

Biology Faculty Research Interests

Rachael Allen
Assistant Teaching Professor
allenrc@umkc.edu 

James Benevides
Teaching Associate Professor
benevidesj@umkc.edu

Samuel Bouyain
CBB Department Head, Associate Professor, IPhD Doctoral Faculty
Areas of expertise: cell adhesion, cell signaling, structrual biology, X-ray crystallography
bouyains@umkc.edu

Saul Honigberg
Professor, IPhD Doctoral Faculty
honigbergs@umkc.edu

Tamas Kapros
Teaching Professor
kaprost@umkc.edu

Loretta Klamm
Instructor
klamml@umkc.edu

Peter Koulen
Professor, IPhD Doctoral Faculty
koulenp@umkc.edu

Thomas Menees
Associate Professor, IPhD Doctoral Faculty
meneest@umkc.edu

Hillary McGraw
Assistant Professor, IPhD Doctoral Faculty
mcgrawh@umkc.edu

Ryan Mohan
Assistant Professor, IPhD Doctoral Faculty
mohanrd@umkc.edu

Nicole Stanton-Wilson
Instructor
stantonn@umkc.edu

Shizhen (Jeff) Wang
Assistant Professor, IPhD Doctoral Faculty
wangshizhen@umkc.edu

Tammy Welchert
Associate Teaching Professor, Director of Student Affairs and Academic Advising
welchertt@umkc.edu

Theodore White
Dean, Professor
whitetc@umkc.edu

Xiao-Qiang (Sean) Yu
Professor, IPhD Doctoral Faculty
yux@umkc.edu 

Tara Allen
Teaching Professor
allent@umkc.edu

Karen Bame
Graduate Programs Officer, Associate Professor
bamek@umkc.edu

Grant Bledsoe
Teaching Assistant Professor
bledsoeg@umkc.edu

Stephane Dissel
Assistant Professor, IPhD Doctoral Faculty
dissels@umkc.edu

Leonard Dobens
Director of Research, Professor, IPhD Doctoral Faculty
Areas of expertise: cell-cell signaling pathways, developmental mechanisms of pattern formation, model organisms, structural biology, transcriptional control
dobensl@umkc.edu

Chi-Ming Huang
Associate Professor
huangc@umkc.edu

Andrew Keightley
Research, Associate Professor
keightleyj@umkc.edu

Lee Likins
Assistant Teaching Professor
likinsfl@umkc.edu

Michael O'Connor
Associate Professor
oconnormi@umkc.edu

Anthony Persechini
MBB Department Head, Professor, IPhD Doctoral Faculty
persechinia@umkc.edu

Jeffrey Price
Professor, IPhD Doctoral Faculty
pricejl@umkc.edu

Jin-Yuan Price
Research Assistant Professor
priceji@umkc.edu

Aaron Reed
Associate Teaching Professor, Director of Course Development and Assessment
reedaw@umkc.edu

Karyn Turla
Teaching Professor
turlak@umkc.edu

Gerald Wyckoff
Professor, IPhD Doctoral Faculty
wyckoffg@umkc.edu

Xiaolan Yao
Associate Professor, IPhD Doctoral Faculty
yaoxia@umkc.edu

 

Chemistry Faculty Research Interests

Many of our Chemistry Department faculty members are involved in a wide range of research topics, including organic chemistry, analytical chemistry, materials chemistry, computational chemistry, inorganic chemistry and nanoscience with both graduate and undergraduate students.

Buszek Research Group
Organic synthesis, medicinal and pharmaceutical chemistry

Chen Research Group
Nanomaterials research with applications in photocatalysis, electrocatalysis, pollution removal, light-matter interaction and the clean energy sector

Dias Research Group
Organic synthesis and characterization witha  focus on bile (cholic) acids, tetracyclic triterpenoids and benzenoids

Kilway Research Group
Research includes the synthesis and study of biomaterials and twisted polycyclic aromatic and linear acenes for biomaterial and material applications

Moteki Research Group
Chemical biology and materials research in nanozymes, catalysis and drug delivery

Oyler Research Group
Solid-state NMR studies of materials and the study of cultural artifacts using hyperspectral imaging

Peng Research Group
Development of functional/multifunctional materials for electronic, optical and biomedical applications

Van Horn Research Group
Biological inorganic chemistry of various transition metals with biological minerals and materials